Menu
Home Page

Holidays and Absence

School Terms and Holidays 2015 to 2016

Autumn Term (1) Tuesday 1st September to Friday 16th October 2015

Half Term Holiday Monday 19th October to Friday 23rd October 2015

Autumn Term (2) Monday 26th October to Friday 18th December 2015

Christmas Holiday Monday 21st December 2015 to Monday 4th January 2016

Spring Term (1) Tuesday 5th January to Friday 12th February 2016

Half Term Holiday Monday 15th February to Friday 19th February 2016

Spring Term (2) Monday 22nd February to Thursday 24th March 2016

Easter Holiday Friday 25th March to Friday 8th April 2016

Summer Term (1) Monday 11th April to Friday 27th May 2016

Bank Holiday Monday 2nd May 2016
Half Term Holiday Monday 30th May to Friday 3rd June 2016

Summer Term (2) Monday 6th June to Friday 15th July 2016

 

You must take any holidays during the designated holiday times.

page6image10296

If you are planning a journey that will keep your child away from school this is our policy concerning absenteeism -

The Government has changed the law and the Headteacher is no longer allowed to agree leave of absence unless there are very exceptional circumstances.

This means that no holidays can be authorised during term time. Any requests for absence during term time must be made in writing. The form is available from the office. Do not book flights until you have received written confirmation from the Headteacher.

 

If your child has unauthorised leave of absence you will either be issued with a Penalty Notice of £120 per parent per child (discounted to £60 if paid within 21 days), or, your case will be referred by the Local Authority directly to the Magistrates’ Court.

 

The Education Welfare Office have issued this statement about children who are repeatedly taken out of school -

‘Where a child has had 2 periods of unauthorised leave for which the parent has been issued with a Penalty Notice (for each occasion), on the third occasion, no Penalty Notice will be issued and that parent will be taken straight to Court under the higher-level aggravated offence. This means that the parent may be subject to a much more severe penalty i.e. a maximum fine of up to £2,500 or 3 months in custody or, a community order which may involve them doing a number of hours of unpaid work.’ 

Top